Research Guides: LGBTQIA+: Articles and Journals

Articles and Journals

The following databases will help you locate LGBTQIA+ related articles and top research journals in the field.

The following are recommended databases for locating scholarly articles, dissertations, theses, and conference papers for this subject.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about business, arts & sciences, and security studies & international relations.
- Create a personal JSTOR account to get a Workspace where you can save and organize your research and come back to it at any time.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, then click Email, copy the URL from the email message, and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.

Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines covering significant aspects of gender in culture and society.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text items covering all subject areas including business and economic journals, magazines, trade, and journals in psychology and computing.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.

Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in education, humanities, social sciences, technology, and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.

Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines covering issues of cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts and some full text from language, literature, and linguistics journals, books and proceedings, from the Modern Language Association.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Permalink button.

Looking for another research database?

Browse Databases

The following are recommended databases for locating scholarly articles, dissertations, theses, and conference papers for this subject.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Research in the areas of communication, mass media studies, linguistics and film.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Permalink button.

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Human factors and psychological scholarly research.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.

Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of life sciences, biomedicine, behavioral sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Previously called SpringerLink.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Contains a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the SHARE button, check the terms and conditions box, then click the Copy URL button.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Locates articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, etc. from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other scholarly-focused web sites.

The following are recommended databases for locating newspaper and magazine articles and government documents related to this subject.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository of over 10 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents with more than 3 million available full text online.
- Embry-Riddle is not considered a partner institution of HathiTrust. This may affect access to certain works and download availability.
- Download options become available once you enter into the Full View.
- Downloads may be restricted to one page at a time.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News articles, legal cases, and company information.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic.

Search Tips
- Results are narrowed to the News category by default.
- Use the options in the Narrow By section on the left to further focus your results by Timeline, Publication Type, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “law reviews”
- Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: brief* will find brief, briefs, briefing, etc.
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "municipal code" AND violation*
- For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right-hand corner or click the Search Tips link beneath the Search box on the homepage.
- For help finding particular types of documents (cases, statutory codes, regulations, etc.), use the Get a Doc Assistance link beneath the Search box on the homepage.

Empty Closet
The Empty Closet is one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. It was begun at the University of Rochester by Bob Osborn and Larry Fine, the founders of the UR student group, Rochester Gay Liberation Front, and later transferred to the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley (GAGV).

Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Outweek Magazine
The entire archive of this seminal NYC lesbian and gay publication which chronicled the peak era of AIDS activism in the late 80s and early 90s.

Journal of LGBT Issues in Counseling
Full-text: 2006 - Present. The Journal of LGBT Issues in Counseling is the national, peer-refereed journal affiliated with the Association for LGBT Issues in Counseling, a division of the American Counseling Association. The journal publishes manuscripts that report cutting-edge empirical research, best practices, and emerging trends and issues focused on counseling the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, asexual ally, pansexual, or other sexual minority communities at all developmental stages of life.

Sexuality Research and Social Policy
Full-text: 2004-Present. Sexuality Research and Social Policy is an international forum for the publication of original peer-reviewed state-of-the-art empirical research on sexuality, theoretical and methodological discussions, and the implications of this evidence for policies across the globe regarding sexual health, sexuality education, and sexual rights in diverse communities.

Journal of LGBT Youth
Full-text: 2008 - Present. This quarterly journal presents peer-reviewed scholarly articles, book reviews, practitioner-based essays, policy analyses, and revealing narratives from young people from a wide-range of discourses, contexts, and theoretical disciplines. The papers and works published are committed to advancing knowledge and public understanding, advocacy, scholarship, and support for sexual and gender minority youth.

Studies in Gender and Sexuality
Full-Text: 2000 - Present. Studies in Gender and Sexuality is one of the leading journals in the transdisciplinary field of gender and sexuality studies. Situated at the interface of psychoanalysis and social/cultural theory, it aims to further our understanding of how we live, theorize and transform genders and sexualities.

Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
Full-text: 2013 - Present. A scholarly journal dedicated to the dissemination of information in the field of sexual orientation and gender diversity. It is a primary outlet for research particularly as it impacts practice, education, public policy, and social action.

Journal of Bisexuality
Full-text: 2000 - Present. The Journal of Bisexuality is the first professional quarterly to publish both professional articles and serious essays on bisexuality and its meaning for the individual, the community, and society. Articles are peer-reviewed and frequently come from inter- and multi- disciplinary perspectives.

The Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
Full-Text: 1994 - Present. A quarterly scholarly journal that provides a forum for the discussion of issues and ideas of importance to lesbians and gay men worldwide, and publishes the work of the best gay and lesbian writers and thinkers. Also aims to educate the public on gay and lesbian topics. Includes essays, reviews and poetry.

Columbia Journal of Gender and Law
Full-Text: 1991 - Present. A law journal devoted to original scholarship on the interaction between gender and law. Contributors are noted scholars in feminist jurisprudence, including judges, law professors, and law students. The editorial stance embraces an expansive view of feminist jurisprudence, inclusive of issues relating to women and men of all races, ethnicities, classes, sexual orientations, and cultures.

Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health
Full-Text: 2008 - Present. Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health seeks out and publishes the most current clinical and research scholarship on LGBT mental health with a focus on clinical issues. The Journal strives to represent the full breadth of LGBT mental health treatment, including issues relevant to patients and mental health care providers in all types of settings.

LGBTQIA+

Articles and Journals

Looking for another research database?

Hunt Library

Contact Us

Library Information

University Initiatives