The following are recommended databases for locating scholarly articles, dissertations, theses, conference papers, as well as technical reports on aviation and aerospace psychology.
Provides citations, abstracts and some full text articles to aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, meteorology, communications and space sciences journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA documents, and technical reports.
Vendor: ProQuest Coverage: 1962 - present Full Text: Partial
Search Tips
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: automat* will find automate, automated, automatic, and automation.
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management."
To locate a complete issue of a journal, click on Publications at the top of the screen.
Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "flight crew" AND fatigue.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, mark the records you want by checking the box in the upper left corner of the record.
When you have finished marking all the items you want, click the Email link near the top of the results page.
Select Citation, abstract, indexing from the drop-down menu next to Content.
Enter your own email address and click on Continue.
After you receive the email containing your records, forward the email to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
Dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. Many are available in full PDF format.
Using Advanced Search allows you to search only the journals available to ERAU students, faculty, and staff.
A free, optional account is available and offers access to additional tools such as email alerts, saved searches and favorite journals. To create an account, click Access/Profile in the upper right corner of the website.
Search Tips
To search for documents containing an exact word or phrase, enclose the term in quotation marks. Example: "climate change"
Use parentheses to group terms and Boolean operators as needed. Expressions within parentheses are evaluated first. Example: enter the following query to search for documents containing flood and also containing either climate or weather: flood AND (climate OR weather)
To search for documents containing two or more terms that appear within a certain distance of each other, put quotation marks around the terms followed by a tilde (~) and a number to indicate the maximum number of words apart that the terms can be. Example: to find documents containing the terms climate and change within ten words of one another, enter the query: "climate change"~10
Search results are listed in order of relevance. Users can increase the relevance of one term in a multiple-term query by raising the term’s boost factor. Raise a term’s boost factor by appending a caret symbol (^) and a number (the boost factor). Example: entering the query climate^7 global gives the term climate seven times more relevance than the term global.
Scholarly journals in education, humanities, social sciences, technology, and more.
Vendor: Informa Coverage: Varies Full Text: Partial
Search Tips:
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "virtual reality"
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: pilot* will find pilot, piloting,
Connect search terms with AND: automobile AND biofuel
For help using and searching this database, click the Help link at the bottom of the page.
Requesting Items:
If full text is not available, copy the records you want, paste them into an email, and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you're an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you're a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
RefWorks
A tool to help you gather, manage, and store research information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. Learn more.
This guide is created and licensed by the Hunt Library at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
.