Research Guides: Computer Science: Databases

Recommended Databases

The following are recommended databases for locating scholarly articles, dissertations, theses, and conference papers for this subject.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
All Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines, proceedings, and transactions as well as citations from major publishers in computing.
- May not work with older versions of Internet Explorer.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, copy the URL, and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authorized link.
- To Export citations to RefWorks:
  1. Check the boxes to the left of the citations
  2. Click on Export Citations at the top of the results list
  3. Choose to export as BibTeX
  4. Click on the download icon
  5. Open RefWorks
  6. Click on Add along the top
  7. Choose Import references
  8. Locate the file
  9. In the search box type: ACM and choose BibTeX ACM Digital Library
  10. Click on the Import button.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Openly accessible, moderated repository for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
To download articles, you may have to make configuration changes to your browser. See Configuring Your Browser in arXiv's Help section for instructions.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, media and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text items covering all subject areas including business and economic journals, magazines, trade, and journals in psychology and computing.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Copy URL button.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of scholarly articles in the fields of life science, health science, physical science, and social science.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Optics and photonics technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the DOI URL in the record and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in education, humanities, social sciences, technology, and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citation/abstract details for hundreds of thousands of worldwide publications such as journals (including open access journals), conference papers, books, and book chapters. Includes journal impact factors in the Journal Citation Reports tab.
- Web of Science includes a subscription to Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a tool which analyzes citation references, measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. To learn more about JCR, please see the following sources:
  - Getting Started with Journal Citation Reports
  - Journal Citation Reports: Learn the Basics
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.

Looking for another research database?

Browse Databases

The following are recommended databases for locating technical reports (technical and scientific research) on this subject.

DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports This link opens in a new window
Searches declassified Department of Defense and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related documents from the Defense Technical Information Center.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new window
NASA-created and NASA-funded materials including conference papers, NACA documents, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, patents, research reports, and technical videos.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business information from more than 200 U.S. government agencies.

Looking for another research database?

Browse Databases

eBook Databases

Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks from publishers CRC Press, Routledge, and more, on topics including engineering, technology, international relations, business, and computer science.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, then click the Copy Link button, and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of subjects, such as aviation and human factors.
- Bookshelves are based on your ERNIE login. (Older versions of bookshelves were overridden.)
- A separate Ebook Central account is no longer required for the use of Bookshelf, highlighting, and downloading features.
- You can add books to your Bookshelf by clicking on the Add to Bookshelf link located on the left of the book’s Detail Page or by placing a bookmark on any page within the book.
- For most books the print/download limit is 40% of the book's pages. Printing or downloading a chapter or page range do the same thing and deduct in the same way based on the pages allowed. Both options create a PDF that does not expire.
- Check the "Availability" section, on the Detail Page, or in the Book Details side panel to see how many copies are available and if it is for Online reading or Download, or both.
- You can change the language of the interface by clicking on Settings in the naviagation bar and clicking on Language. Choose your language and save the changes.
- To share ebooks or chapters, click the Share Link to Book button.
- For help using and searching in the database, click the question mark icon (?) in the upper right corner, or use their Help Guide
Request Items
- Books not available full text online in this database may be available in print. Search for the title in EAGLEsearch to see if the library owns a print copy. Visit the Borrow and Renew (Access Services - Circulation) page for help in checking out material.
- If you see that a book is "Available on request," you may read the book online for up to 5 minutes; click Read Online to do so.
- Click on the Request button or request this book link to fill out the form to request the library purchase it if you cannot locate it in our catalog.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Specialized reference sources such as almanacs, encyclopedias, and books on a variety of topics.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, educational films, performances, and news clips spanning subjects such as business, film, health, history, music, and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
FedFlix This link opens in a new window
United States Government videos covering a variety of topics from various departments and agencies.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Educational films and documentaries for all academic disciplines. Content from PBS, TED, the BBC, National Geographic and more.
- To create a Films On Demand account, click on the Your Profile link in the upper right corner in desktop view or on the menu icon in mobile view.
- By creating an account you can create customized playlists, which can be shared by a persistent URL.
- To create a shareable link to a video, click the Share button, then click the Embed/Link tab, and copy the Record URL.

Looking for another research database?

Browse Databases

Computer Science

RefWorks

Recommended Databases

Looking for another research database?

Looking for another research database?

eBook Databases

Video Databases

Looking for another research database?

Hunt Library

Contact Us

Library Information

University Initiatives