Research Guides: Physics and Chemistry: Data, Standards, and Patents

Data, Standards, and Patents

Use the following resources to find data sets, standards, and patents in physics and related fields.

HEPData
Repository for publication-related High-Energy Physics data.
MCPLOTS
MCPLOTS is a repository of MC (Monte Carlo) plots comparing High Energy Physics event generators to a wide variety of available experimental data, for tuning and reference purposes.
National Nuclear Data Center
Based at Brookhaven National Laboratory, this specializes in nuclear structure and low-energy nuclear reactions, nuclear databases and information technology, and nuclear data compilation and evaluation.
National Space Science Data Center (NSSDC)
Archives NASA's space science and space physics mission data.
NIST
Critically evaluated data from the National Institute for Standards and Technology. Available data includes physical constants, atomic and molecular data, nuclear physics, condensed matter, and more.
OSTI.gov Data Explorer
The DOE Data Explorer (DDE) is a portal to research data, including computer similations, numeric data files, graphical information, maps, multimedia, and other files. The data contained herein was generated by DOE-sponsored research in various disciplines.
PhysLink
This website has a large variety of resources for professional physicists and astronomers as well as resources for the nonprofessional. The site has current news items, a variety of reference data pages, and hosts discussion forums.
re3data
List of other data repositories related to physics and chemistry. Browse by subject.

ISO - International Organization for Standardization
Search and purchase standards from the international standards body.
NIST: National Institute of Standards and Technology
This physical science and technology laboratory is a branch of the U.S. Department of Commerce and publishes standards.

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, ebooks, and conference proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Search Tips
- Click Advanced Search to search by author, Digital Object Identifier (DOI), paper number. etc.
  - Under the Update Search heading on the left, use the Filter drop-down to select a category.
  - Click Add term to add another term/search field.
  - Click Update to finalize search.
- To browse the ASME journals available, click the Journals button.
- To browse the ASME books available, click the eBooks button.
- To browse content grouped by topic, click the Topic Collections button.
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: engineer* will find engineer, engineered, engineering, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “crew resource management”
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM’s standards (both current and historical versions) and many UNE and EN versions of ISO and IEC standards. Special Technical Publications (STPs) and conference proceedings, technical manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation are also included.
- Read the License Agreement and decide whether you accept the terms or not. If so, click on the I Agree and Continue button. If not, close the database.
- Users must create a free account to use tools such as bookmarking, annotating, and sharing. To create a free account, click on Sign In/Register at the top right.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, media and more.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.
National Fire Codes This link opens in a new window
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) codes, standards, and handbooks. Current and previous document versions are included.
- To create a shareable link to a document, copy the URL in the browser's address bar.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Technical papers, standards, ebooks, and related publications from SAE International.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Share button, copy the URL, and use the Create Proxy Links tool to create an authenticated link.

Espacenet
A free patent search tool, including 80 million patent documents from the European Patent Office, the USPTO, and other countries worldwide, searchable by full text.
Google Patents - Advanced Search
Patents from around the world, translated. Plus technical papers and books, organized and labeled automatically. Search for prior art, all in one place.
The Lens
A patent search database including records from patent offices worldwide.
Patentscope
The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
USPTO Patent Databases
Search the full text of patents 1976 - present; patents issued 1790 - 1975 are searchable by patent number or issue date. The Patent Application Database contains all patent applications published since 2001.

Physics and Chemistry

Data, Standards, and Patents

Hunt Library

Contact Us

Library Information

University Initiatives