Research Guides: COM 122: English Composition (Taylor): Home

Assignment

Develop and support an arguable thesis about one of the music videos we viewed in class. Your task is to write an argumentative paper based off of 1) your interpretation of the music video and 2) informed by your research. Your interpretation is your argument. You must also engage with at least 3 secondary sources. At least 1 of your 3 secondary sources must be a peer-reviewed article.

What do you think the video is about beyond the surface reading? What argument is the artist trying to make? What is the deeper meaning? What is the video suggesting about space? About technology and society?

Recommended Databases

ProQuest Central
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text items covering all subject areas including business and economic journals, magazines, trade, and journals in psychology and computing.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1905 - present
Full Text: Partial

Help Guide
Video Tutorials

Search Tips
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: automat* will find automate, automated, automatic, and automation.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management."
- To locate a complete issue of a journal, click on Publications at the top of the screen.
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "flight crew" AND fatigue.
Requesting Items
- If full text is not available, mark the records you want on the results page by placing a checkmark in the box to the left.
- When you have finished marking all the items you want, click the Email link at the top right of the results page.
- Select Citation, abstract, indexing from the drop-down menu next to "Content"
- Enter your own email address and click on Continue
- After you receive the email containing your records, forward the email to library@erau.edu. Please include:
  
  Your name
  
  Daytime phone number
  
  Course number
  
  Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
  
  Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

Search Tips

In ProQuest Central, try one of the following search strategies depending on your topic:
- Music search strategies:
  - "music videos" AND (interpret* OR meaning OR symbol* OR analysis)
  - "music videos" AND (interpret* OR meaning OR symbol* OR analysis) AND ( "space travel" OR "outer space" OR aliens OR flight)
  - "music videos" AND (image* OR symbol* OR meaning*) AND (rocket* OR moon OR spaceship)
  - "music videos" AND ("outer space" OR otherness OR "science fiction")
  - "music videos" AND (science OR technology)
  - "music videos" AND (science OR technology) AND Bowie
  - "popular music" AND video* AND (science OR technolog*) AND image*
  - "music AND (videos OR television OR MTV) AND outkast AND atliens
  - "("music video*" OR MTV) AND (symbol* OR image* OR meaning OR analysis) AND space*
- General search strategies:
  - (rocket* OR moon* OR "outer space") AND (symbol* OR imag*) AND "pop culture"
  - cultur* AND ("outer space" OR cosm* OR "space theme" OR "space themed" OR "space themes")
Narrow your results as needed using the left-hand limiter options.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to scholarly journals encompassing communications, mass media, and other closely related fields.
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Partial

Mobile Apps
Android - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ebsco.ehost
Apple - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ebscohost/id433269587?mt=8

Video Tutorials

Good to Know
- To create a free EBSCOhost account and access additional features such as saving preferences, research organization and sharing, saving and retrieving search history, etc., click on the Sign in link in the upper right corner of the homepage.
- Articles in HTML format can be read aloud using the Text-To-Speech feature. Text-To-Speech is not available for PDF documents.
Search Tips
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “rhetorical analysis”
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root of a word to find all variants: speech* will find speech, speeches, speechwriting, etc.
- Connect search terms with AND: doublespeak AND language
- To broaden your search to include words related to your keywords, check the box next to "Apply related words" under the Search Options section.
- Experiment with other options to further refine and focus your search.
- For help in using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right corner of the screen.
Requesting Items
- If full text is not available, mark the items you want by clicking on the Folder icon to the right of the citation. A box titled "Folder has items" will appear.
- When you have finished adding items to the folder, click on "Go to: Folder View" within the "Folder has items" box, or on the Folder link in the top right corner of the page.
- Click on E-mail on the right.
- Enter your own email address in the "E-mail to:" box and click Send.(Sending the documents to yourself first ensures you have a copy of what you're requesting.)
- After you receive the email containing your records, forward the email to library@erau.edu. Please include:
  
  Your name
  
  Daytime phone number
  
  Course number
  
  Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
  
  Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

Search Tips

In Communication & Mass Media Complete, try one of the following search strategies depending on your topic:
- (analysis OR meaning) AND ("music video*" OR lyrics)
- (analysis OR meaning) AND ("music video*" OR "song lyrics")
- ("music video*" OR "song lyrics") AND (science OR technology)
- (rocket* OR moon* OR "outer space") AND (symbol* OR imag*)
Narrow your results as needed using the left-hand limiter options.

MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations and abstracts and some full text from language, literature, and linguistics journals, books and proceedings, from the Modern Language Association.
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Coverage: 1926 – present
Full Text: None

Video Tutorials - Keyword vs. Subjects | Names as Subjects

Good to Know
To create a free EBSCOhost account and access additional features such as saving preferences, research organization and sharing, saving and retrieving search history, etc., click on the Sign in link in the upper right corner of the homepage.

Search Tips
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: imag* will find image, images, imagery, imagination etc.
- When two or more words are entered, the database will search for them as an exact phrase. If you wish to avoid this, place AND between the words.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “gothic imagery”.
- For help using and searching in the database, click on Help in the upper right corner of the screen.
Requesting Items
- If full text is not available, mark the records you want by checking the folder icon to the right of the citation. A box titled “Folder has items” will appear.
- When you have finished adding items to the folder, click on Go to: Folder View within the “Folder has items” box, or on the Folder link in the top right corner of the page.
- Click on Email on the right
- Enter your own email address in the “E-mail to.” Box and click Send. (Sending the documents to yourself first ensures you have a copy of what you’re requesting.)
- After you receive the email containing your records, forward the email to library@erau.edu. Please include:
  
  Your name
  
  Daytime phone number
  
  Course number
  
  Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
  
  Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

Search Tips

In MLA International Bibliography, try one of the following search strategies depending on your topic:
- (song* OR music*) AND (video* OR lyrics) AND (interpret* OR meaning OR symbol* OR analysis)
- (song* OR music*) AND (video* OR lyrics) AND ("hip hop" OR rap OR "popular music" OR "rock and roll")
- ("outer space" OR otherness OR "science fiction") AND music*
- (cosmic OR "outer space")
- (rocket* OR moon*) AND (symbol* OR imag*)
Narrow your results as needed using the left-hand limiter options.

What's does peer-reviewed mean?

For information on how understanding peer-review, as well as different type of journals, please see our research guide Understanding Journals: Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly, Trade & Popular.

Get Help

Hours

Chat with Us

Need immediate answers to short research questions? Chat with a Librarian!

Email Us

Need in-depth research help? Email a Librarian!

Text Us

Need answers to quick questions? Text a Librarian at 386-968-8843!

Call Us

Need help on the go? Call a Librarian at 386-226-7656 or toll-free at 800-678-9428!

Consult Us

Need in-depth one-on-one research assistance? Consult a Librarian!