Using Advanced Search allows you to search only the journals available to ERAU students, faculty, and staff.
A free, optional account is available and offers access to additional tools such as email alerts, saved searches and favorite journals. To create an account, click Sign in at the top of the page, then follow the instructions in the "Sign Up" section.
To search for documents containing an exact word or phrase, enclose the term in quotation marks. Example: "climate change"
Use parentheses to group terms and Boolean operators as needed. Expressions within parentheses are evaluated first. Example: enter the following query to search for documents containing flood and also containing either climate or weather: flood AND (climate OR weather)
To search for documents containing two or more terms that appear within a certain distance of each other, put quotation marks around the terms followed by a tilde (~) and a number to indicate the maximum number of words apart that the terms can be. Example: to find documents containing the terms climate and change within ten words of one another, enter the query: "climate change"~10
Search results are listed in order of relevance. Users can increase the relevance of one term in a multiple-term query by raising the term’s boost factor. Raise a term’s boost factor by appending a caret symbol (^) and a number (the boost factor). Example: entering the query climate^7 global gives the term climate seven times more relevance than the term global.
Searches declassified Department of Defense and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related documents from the Defense Technical Information Center.
Vendor: Defense Technical Information Center Coverage: Varies Full Text: Partial
Good to Know
Documents are sometimes reclassified and no longer accessible.
Click on a document title to view the citation/abstract page. If the item is available full-text, a "Full Text" field containing a link will be present.
Some documents are hundreds of pages. Please check the pagination (found on the citation/abstract page) before downloading to ensure sure your Internet connection can accomodate it.
DTIC does not support wildcard (truncation) searching.
Enter desired search terms in the Keywords box in the upper right corner for a general topic search: aircraft pilot fatigue
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “joint strike fighter”
Click on Advanced Search for additional search options and fields.
For additional search tips, hover cursor on FAQ in the upper right corner, then select Research.
If full text is not available, copy and paste the records you want into an email and send them to email@example.com. Please include:
Daytime phone number
Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
Full text content available through EAGLEsearch. Provides citation/abstract searching and some full-text access to scholarly journals and conference proceedings in many fields of research, including human factors and ergonomics.
Coverage: Varies Full Text: Partial
Select Subscribed Titles from the Search box drop-down menu to search for full-text content only.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: pilot* will find pilot, pilots, piloting, etc.
Connect search terms with AND: pilot* AND fatigue.
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management".
If full text is not available, mark the records you want by checking box to the left of the record.
Once all records are marked, click on Update marked list.
Click on Marked list on the right side of the screen.
Click on Email under the "Tools" menu on the right.
Enter your own email address in the "To (email address)" box.
Provides access to citation/abstract details for hundreds of thousands of worldwide publications such as journals (including open access journals), conference papers, books, and book chapters. Includes journal impact factors in the Journal Citation Reports tab.
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics Coverage: 1980 - present Full Text: None
To create a free Web of Science account, click the Register icon in the upper right corner of the page.
To use advanced features such as saved searches, alerts, etc., sign in with a Web of Science username and password.
Click the Question Mark icon in the lower right corner of any page to access a variety of help options.
Web of Science includes a subscription to Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a tool which analyzes citation references, measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. To learn more about the JCR, please see the following sources: