It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Case Study Research
This guide will assist researchers in finding both individual case studies and information on how to analyze and design case studies.
Provides citations, abstracts and some full text articles, to aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, communications and space sciences journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA documents, and technical reports.
Vendor: ProQuest Coverage: 1962 - present Full Text: Partial
Search Tips
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: automat* will find automate, automated, automatic, and automation.
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management."
To locate a complete issue of a journal, click on Publications at the top of the screen.
Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "flight crew" AND fatigue.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, mark the records you want by checking the box in the upper left corner of the record.
When you have finished marking all the items you want, click the Email link near the top of the results page.
Select Citation, abstract, indexing from the drop-down menu next to Content.
Enter your own email address and click on Continue.
After you receive the email containing your records, forward the email to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
Select Advanced Search from the menu at the top of the page
In the search box, enter a term or terms to descirbe the topic of your search
Below, in the "Document type" box, select Case Study
Provides access to journals, standards, ebooks and papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Check the library catalog for standards owned by the Hunt Library.
Vendor: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Coverage:Journals: Varies by publication |Papers: 1963 - present Full Text: Partial
Search Tips
Enter search terms in the Search box located at the top right.
When two or more words are entered, the database will automatically place AND between the words.
The operators OR and NOT can be used but must be uppercase.
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search them as an exact phrase, such as a book title: "From Rainbow to Gusto."
Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: plan* will find plan, plans, planning, etc. The asterisk cannot be used within quotation marks for phrase searching.
To find a specific AIAA paper, change the drop-down menu to the search box from Anywhere to Find by Paper Number
To browse journals, books, or standards, click on the respective tab located along the top.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, copy and paste the item information into an email and send it to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
In the search box, type in the following with quotes: "case study"
To search for case studies in a particular area, type AND followed by a keyword related to your topic
i.e. "case study" AND uas
Click on Search
Below are instructions for locating case studies in some business specific databases:
To create a free optional profile, click on the Profile icon in the upper right corner of the database web page. A profile allows you to make lists, save searches, and more.
To obtain a faculty teaching code, send a request to library@erau.edu or call 386-226-7656.
Search Tips
To find cases by topic, enter a word or phrase in the box titled "Search in SAGE Business Cases" in the top center of the main search screen. Note: This search box automatically performs an "exact phrase" search; to perform a search with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), click on the Advanced link just below the lower right corner of the search box
For an alphabetical list of cases, click on the link titled Click here to browse all cases.
To browse by subject, content partner, or academic level, click on the relevant Browse by... tab in the center of the screen, then select the desired category.
To search other SAGE products in addition to Business Cases, or for additional search options and filters, click on the Advanced link just below the lower right corner of the search box.
To create a free EBSCOhost account and access additional features such as saving preferences, research organization and sharing, saving and retrieving search history, etc., click on the Sign in link in the upper right corner of any page.
Articles in HTML format can be read aloud using the Text-To-Speech feature.
Search Tips
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “consumer behavior”
Use the asterisk (*) to find variant endings of a root word: comput* will find computer, computers, computing, etc.
Use the options in the Refine Search section on the left to further focus your results.
To search for company information, first perform a basic search using the company name. When the results page appears, click on the desired company name under Company Information on the right.
For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right-hand corner.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, copy the records you want, paste them into an email, and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
In the search box, enter a term or terms to descirbe the topic of your search
Below, in the "Limit your results" box and in the "Publication Type" field, select Case Study
Full-text access to McGraw-Hill resources and publications including instructional videos and classic books such as Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook.
Vendor: McGraw-Hill Full Text: Complete
Good to Know
To create a free AccessEngineering account, click on the My account button on the right side of the AccessEngineering homepage. Then, choose Log in via email/username and click on Register.
To use features including printing, document downloading, and annotating text, sign in with an AccessEngineering username and password.
Downloadable Excel Spreadsheet Calculators covering a range of common calculations across several disciplines are available. Click on Spreadsheets.
If you have access issues, clear your browser cookies.
Search Tips
To conduct a search with multiple terms or phrases, use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: paper AND core
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: automat* will find automate, automated, automatic, and automation.
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "paper core”
To view other sections available in a book, click on the book title (Source) below the citation.
To view resources in a particular subject area, click on the Subject button, then the desired subject, and then Browse Selected.
Pop-up blockers may interfere, so please allow pop-ups.
For help in searching this database, click on the Help link at the top of the page.
In the Search Access Engineering box, enter: "case study" OR "case studies"
Click Search
Add topic-related terms to the search above to focus your search, or use the filtering options in the "Narrow Your Search" box on the left side of the page
Provides full-text access to all IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and more.
Vendor: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Coverage: 1872 - present Full Text: Partial
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “aircraft instrumentation”
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: optic* will find optics, optical, etc.
Click Advanced Search to access additional options such as specific field searching, Boolean (AND/OR/NOT) searching, and Publication Date ranges.
Once results are obtained, click on PDF below the citation to view the complete document.
For help using and searching this database, click Help or Get Help in the menu bar across the top of the screen on any database page.
Good to Know
Click Create Account in the upper right corner of the database page to access additional features such as Alerts, Search History, etc.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, copy the records you want, paste them into an email, and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your full name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
In the search box, type in the following with quotes: "case study"
To search for case studies in a particular area, type AND followed by a keyword related to your topic
i.e. "case study" AND avionics
Click on the magnifying glass (search button)
Below are instructions for locating case studies in some general/multidisciplinary databases:
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text items covering all subject areas including business and economic journals, magazines, trade, and journals in psychology and computing.
Vendor: ProQuest Coverage: 1905 - present Full Text: Partial
Scholarly journals in education, humanities, social sciences, technology, and more.
Vendor: Informa Coverage: Varies Full Text: Partial
Search Tips:
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "virtual reality"
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: pilot* will find pilot, piloting,
Connect search terms with AND: automobile AND biofuel
For help using and searching this database, click the Help link at the bottom of the page.
Requesting Items:
If full text is not available, copy the records you want, paste them into an email, and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you're an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you're a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
In the search box, type in the following with quotes: "case study"
To search for case studies in a particular area, type AND followed by a keyword related to your topic
You must create a free account to use features such as printing, the Bookshelf, highlighting, and downloading.
To create a free Ebook Central account, click on the Sign In link at the top right and then click on the Join Ebook Central button.
For most books the print/download limit is 40% of the book's pages. Printing or downloading a chapter or page range do the same thing and deduct in the same way based on the pages allowed. Both options create a PDF that does not expire.
Check the "Availability" section, on the Detail Page, or in the Book Details side panel to see how many copies are available and if it is for Online reading or Download, or both.
You can change the language of the interface by clicking on Settings in the naviagation bar and clicking on Language. Choose your language and save the changes.
Search Tips
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management."
Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "flight crew" AND fatigue. Connectors must be capitalized.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a word root to find all variants: automat* will find automate, automated, automatic, and automation.
Click the Read Online button to view the full text of a book. Or, click on Full Download to download, if available.
Use the table of contents or navigational arrows to browse.
Use the "Search within book" search box to search for a term or phrase within the book.
For help using and searching in the database, click the question mark icon (?) in the upper right corner, or use their Help Guide
Request Items
Books not available full text online in this database may be available in print. Search for the title in EAGLEsearch to see if the library owns a print copy. Visit the Borrow and Renew (Access Services - Circulation) page for help in checking out material.
If you see that a book is "Available on request," you may read the book online for up to 5 minutes; click Read Online to do so.
Click on the Request button or request this book link to fill out the form to request the library purchase it if you cannot locate it in our catalog.
In the search box, type in the following with quotes: "case study"
To search for case studies in a particular area, type AND followed by a keyword related to your topic
i.e. "case study" AND security
Click Search
Below are instructions for locating case studies in some psychology specific databases:
To create a free EBSCOhost account and access additional features such as saving search preferences, research organization and sharing, retaining and retrieving search histories, etc., click the Sign in link in the upper right corner of the page.
Articles in HTML format can be read aloud using the Text-To-Speech feature. Text-To-Speech is not available for PDF documents.
Search Tips
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “post traumatic stress”
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root of a word to find all variants: traum* will find trauma, traumatic, traumatize, etc.
Connect search terms with AND: veteran* AND trauma*
Experiment with other options to further refine and focus your search.
For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right corner of the page.
In the search box, type in the following with quotes: "case study"
To search for case studies in a particular area, type AND followed by a keyword related to your topic
Using Advanced Search allows you to search only the journals available to ERAU students, faculty, and staff.
A free, optional account is available and offers access to additional tools such as email alerts, saved searches and favorite journals. To create an account, click Sign in at the top of the page, then follow the instructions in the "Sign Up" section.
Search Tips
To search for documents containing an exact word or phrase, enclose the term in quotation marks. Example: "climate change"
Use parentheses to group terms and Boolean operators as needed. Expressions within parentheses are evaluated first. Example: enter the following query to search for documents containing flood and also containing either climate or weather: flood AND (climate OR weather)
To search for documents containing two or more terms that appear within a certain distance of each other, put quotation marks around the terms followed by a tilde (~) and a number to indicate the maximum number of words apart that the terms can be. Example: to find documents containing the terms climate and change within ten words of one another, enter the query: "climate change"~10
Search results are listed in order of relevance. Users can increase the relevance of one term in a multiple-term query by raising the term’s boost factor. Raise a term’s boost factor by appending a caret symbol (^) and a number (the boost factor). Example: entering the query climate^7 global gives the term climate seven times more relevance than the term global.
Provides access to scholarly journals and ebooks in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Vendor: Elsevier Coverage: Varies Full Text: Partial
Full-text access to research articles in biology, genetics, and medicine from the Public Library of Science.
Vendor: PLOS Coverage: April 2006 - present Full Text: Complete
Good to Know
The database defaults to the advanced search option. Click the Simple Search link below the large search bar to search the entire database.
An account is required to receive journal email alerts and to comment on articles; a free account can be created by clicking on Create account in the upper right corner.
Search Tips
Browse articles in a particular subject area by clicking on Browse. Once a subject area is chosen, sub-categories will appear with each new selection to allow further narrowing. Click on View all articles and then list articles to view articles in that subject area.
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "tropical diseases"
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: botan* will find botany, botanical, botanist, etc.
Use AND to separate terms and phrases: "tropical diseases" AND fatigue
Use the Advanced Search option to search for terms in specific fields such as Title, Author, Abstract or Body.
Scroll to the bottom of the Advanced Search screen to explore other PLOS journals, i.e. PLOS Medicine, PLOS Biology, etc.
In the search box, type in the following with quotes: "case study"
To search for case studies in a particular area, type AND followed by a keyword related to your topic
i.e. "case study" AND energy
Click Search
Below are instructions for locating case studies in some general/multidisciplinary databases:
Contains citations and many links to full-text books, journal articles, technical reports, and conference proceedings from the Transportation Research Board.
Coverage: 1960 - present Full Text: Partial
Search Tips
Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "unmanned aerial vehicles."
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: pilot* will find pilot, pilots, piloting, etc.
Connect search terms with AND: operator* AND fatigue
Use the menu on the right of a search results page for more advanced search options or to narrow your results.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, mark the records you want and click on Marked Records.
Copy and paste the entire citation(s) on the screen into an email addressed to library@erau.edu. Please include:
Your name
Daytime phone number
Course number
Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student
In the search box, type in the following with quotes: "case study"
To search for case studies in a particular area, type AND followed by a keyword related to your topic
