Research Guides: Human Trafficking Awareness: Books & eBooks

Books & eBooks

Find reference and introductory materials, plus more with our hand-picked book selections below. Be sure to search our catalog and databases for more book and ebook selections.

The SAGE Handbook of Human Trafficking and Modern Day Slavery
Publisher: SAGE, 2019
Millions of people around the world are forced to work without pay and under threat of violence. These individuals can be found working in brothels, factories, mines, farm fields, restaurants, construction sites and private homes: many have been tricked by human traffickers and lured by false promises of good jobs or education, some are forced to work at gunpoint, while others are trapped by phony debts from unscrupulous moneylenders. The SAGE Handbook of Human Trafficking and Modern-Day Slavery provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary and global look at the diverse issues surrounding human trafficking and slavery in the post-1945 environment. Covering everything from history, literature and politics to economics, international law and geography, this Handbook is essential reading for academics and researchers, as well as for policy-makers and non-governmental organisations
Ending Human Trafficking and Modern-Day Slavery
Publisher: SAGE, 2018
Bringing together conceptual, practice, and advocacy knowledge, Ending Human Trafficking and Modern-Day Slavery: Freedom's Journey explores the complexities of human trafficking and modern-day slavery through a global perspective. This comprehensive, multidisciplinary text includes a discussion of the root causes and structural issues that continue to plague society, as well as real-life case studies and vignettes, the words of human trafficking survivors, and insights from first responders and anti-trafficking advocates. Each chapter includes a "call to action" to inspire readers to implement a range of strategies designed to disrupt, eradicate, or mitigate human trafficking and modern-day slavery.
Human Trafficking
Publisher: SAGE, 2018
This practical, interdisciplinary text draws from empirically grounded scholarship, survivor-centered practices, and an ecological perspective to help readers develop an understanding of the meaning and scope of human trafficking. Throughout the book, the authors address the specific vulnerabilities of human trafficking victims, their medical-psycho-social needs, and issues related to direct service delivery. They also address the identification of human trafficking crimes, traffickers, and the impact of this crime on the global economy. Using detailed case studies to illuminate real situations, the book covers national and international anti-trafficking policies, prevention and intervention strategies, promising practices to combat human trafficking, responses of law enforcement and service providers, organizational challenges, and the cost of trafficking to human wellbeing.
Human Trafficking: The Complexities of Exploitation
Publisher: Edinburgh University Press, 2016
What is human trafficking? Despite legislative developments and national and international interventions, we still lack firm definitions, estimates of its full extent, effective responses to perpetrators and sound survivor care. This volume critically examines the competing discourses surrounding human trafficking, the conceptual basis of global responses and the impact of these horrific acts worldwide.
Child Exploitation and Trafficking : Examining Global Enforcement and Supply Chain Challenges and U.S. Responses
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield, 2016
Each year, more than two million children around the world fall victim to commercial sexual and labor exploitation. Put simply, the growing epidemic of child exploitation demands a coordinated response. In addition to compliance concerns raised by the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA), UK Bribery Act, and other more familiar transnational anti-corruption laws, today’s companies must also respond to more novel legal requirements, such as those contained in the California Transparency in Supply Chains Act, Federal Acquisition Regulations on Trafficking in Persons in Federal Contracts, U.K. Modern Slavery Act of 2015, European Union’s Directive on Transparency and its amendments, and the proposed federal Business Transparency in Trafficking and Slavery Act and other laws. This Second Edition of Child Exploitation and Trafficking: Examining Global Enforcement and Supply Chain Challenges and U.S. Responses brings fresh, practical thinking to this oft-misunderstood area of the law, helping erase some of its counterproductive mythology. The book not only provides the first comprehensive, practical introduction to the history and present-day reality of child exploitation and supply chain issues, but it also traces the interconnected web of domestic and transnational federal laws and law enforcement efforts launched in response thereto.
Fighting Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking
Publisher: Cambridge University Press, 2021
Over the last two decades, fighting modern slavery and human trafficking has become a cause célèbre. Yet large numbers of researchers, non-governmental organizations, trade unions, workers, and others who would seem like natural allies in the fight against modern slavery and trafficking are hugely skeptical of these movements. They object to how the problems are framed, and are skeptical of the "new abolitionist" movement. Why? This book tackles key controversies surrounding the anti-slavery and anti-trafficking movements head on. Champions and skeptics explore the fissures and fault lines that surround efforts to fight modern slavery and human trafficking today. These include: whether efforts to fight modern slavery displace or crowd out support for labor and migrant rights; whether and to what extent efforts to fight modern slavery mask, naturalize, and distract from racial, gendered, and economic inequality; and whether contemporary anti-slavery and anti-trafficking crusaders' use of history are accurate and appropriate.
Labour Exploitation in Human Trafficking Law
Publisher: Intersentia, 2021
The 2000 Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons Especially Women and Children, supplementing the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime provides the first internationally agreed definition of the human trafficking. However, in failings to clarify the exact scope and meaning of exploitation, it has created an ambiguity as to what constitutes exploitation of labour in criminal law.
The international definition's preference for an enumerative approach has been replicated in most regional and domestic legal instruments, making it difficult to draw the line between exploitation in terms of violations of labour rights and extreme forms of exploitation such as those listed in the Protocol.
Representations of Transnational Human Trafficking
Publisher: Palgrave, 2018
This open access edited collection examines representations of human trafficking in media ranging from British and Serbian newspapers, British and Scandinavian crime novels, and a documentary series, and questions the extent to which these portrayals reflect the realities of trafficking. It tackles the problematic tendency to under-report particular types of victim and forms of trafficking, and seeks to explore both dominant and marginalised points of view. The authors take a cross-disciplinary approach, utilising analytical tools from across the humanities and social sciences, including linguistics, literary and media studies, and cultural criminology. It will appeal to students, academics and policy-makers with an interest in human trafficking and its depiction in the modern day.
Routledge International Handbook of Human Trafficking
Publisher: Routledge, 2019
According to the UNODC (2015), human trafficking (HT) is the fastest growing means by which people are enslaved, the fastest growing international crime, and one of the largest sources of income for organized criminal networks. It profoundly impacts the physical and mental health of victims, their families, and entire communities and is recognized as a crime against humanity. Despite burgeoning interest, education, research, and advocacy efforts, a pinnacle handbook devoted to human trafficking and modern-day slavery - with global focus and multidisciplinary scope - does not currently exist. The Routledge International Handbook of Human Trafficking was created to fill this resource gap. Divided into four sections, the Handbook offers the reader a comprehensive and fresh approach via: (a) in-depth analyses and opportunities for application (through case studies, critical thinking questions, and supplemental learning materials); (b) multidisciplinary linkages, with disciplinary overlap across each of the four sections acknowledged and highlighted; and (c) content experts representing multiple segments of society (academia, government, foundation, law enforcement, and practice) and global vantage points (Australia, Finland, Germany, Netherlands, South Africa, Thailand, and the United States). Written by expert scholars, service providers, policy analysts, and healthcare professionals, this Handbook is an invaluable resource for those already working in the field, as well as for students in any discipline who want to learn (or learn more) about HT and modern-day slavery.
Diffusing Human Trafficking Policy in Eurasia
Publisher: Bristol University Press, 2020
Offering a perceptive study of the urgent human rights issue of trafficking in persons, this important book analyses the development and effectiveness of public policies across Eurasia. Drawing on multi-method research in the region, Laura A. Dean explores the factors behind anti-trafficking strategies and the role of governments and activists in combating labour and sexual exploitation. She examines the intersection of global strategies and state-by-state approaches, and uses the diffusion of innovation framework to cast new light on the impetus and implementation of different policy typologies. Identifying the strengths, weaknesses, and best practices in human trafficking policies around Eurasia, Dean's book will appeal to a wide range of students, scholars, practitioners, and policy makers.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Specialized reference sources such as almanacs, encyclopedias, and books on a variety of topics.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of subjects, such as aviation and human factors.
- Bookshelves are based on your ERNIE login. (Older versions of bookshelves were overridden.)
- A separate Ebook Central account is no longer required for the use of Bookshelf, highlighting, and downloading features.
- You can add books to your Bookshelf by clicking on the Add to Bookshelf link located on the left of the book’s Detail Page or by placing a bookmark on any page within the book.
- For most books the print/download limit is 40% of the book's pages. Printing or downloading a chapter or page range do the same thing and deduct in the same way based on the pages allowed. Both options create a PDF that does not expire.
- Check the "Availability" section, on the Detail Page, or in the Book Details side panel to see how many copies are available and if it is for Online reading or Download, or both.
- You can change the language of the interface by clicking on Settings in the naviagation bar and clicking on Language. Choose your language and save the changes.
- To share ebooks or chapters, click the Share Link to Book button.
- For help using and searching in the database, click the question mark icon (?) in the upper right corner, or use their Help Guide
Request Items
- Books not available full text online in this database may be available in print. Search for the title in EAGLEsearch to see if the library owns a print copy. Visit the Borrow and Renew (Access Services - Circulation) page for help in checking out material.
- If you see that a book is "Available on request," you may read the book online for up to 5 minutes; click Read Online to do so.
- Click on the Request button or request this book link to fill out the form to request the library purchase it if you cannot locate it in our catalog.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Books on varying topics related to humanities, leadership, management, accounting, and engineering.
- To create a free account, click on Sign In at the top of the page and then click on Create one now or sign in with an existing Google account.
- To use the book download, notes, and folder features, users must create a free account and sign in.
- The number of pages that can be printed from any book depends on the book. After you click on Print Pages or the Download symbol for a section, a box will appear telling you the total allowable number of pages that can be printed.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Permalink button.
Sage Academic Books This link opens in a new window
Ebooks across the social sciences - business, education, psychology - with unlimited simultaneous users, downloading, and printing.
- To create a shareable link to a document, click the Get Link button.

Search for books on Human Trafficking

How do I check out a book?

For information on borrowing books from the Hunt Library, please select your campus.

Not all materials from the Hunt Library are available for borrowing. See collection locations in table below to determine which materials are available for borrowing or library use only:

Available for Borrowing	Library Use Only
Main Shelves NTSB Documents ERAU Dissertations/Theses	Reference Reserves Special Collections Aircraft Manuals

ERAU students, faculty and staff from the Daytona Beach Campus may check out items from the Hunt Library by presenting a valid EagleCard at the Circulation Desk.

For additional information on borrowing books such as loan periods or renewals, please see the library website.

Not all materials from the Hunt Library are available for borrowing. See collection locations in table below to determine which materials are available for borrowing or library use only:

Available for Borrowing	Library Use Only
Main Shelves NTSB Documents ERAU Dissertations/Theses	Reference Reserves Special Collections Aircraft Manuals

ERAU students, faculty and staff from the Worldwide Campus may check out items from the Hunt Library by filling out the Book Request Form.

For additional information on borrowing books such as loan periods, renewals, and how to return materials, please see the library website.

Human Trafficking Awareness

Books & eBooks

Search for books on Human Trafficking

How do I check out a book?

Hunt Library

Contact Us

Library Information

University Initiatives