Databases - U.S. - Asian Relations - Research Guides at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Recommended Databases

The following are recommended databases for locating scholarly articles, dissertations, theses, and conference papers for this subject.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Documents related to homeland security and cybersecurity policy, strategy and organizational management from sources including federal, state, and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Partial

Good to Know
- Full access to the HSDL Collection and the News Digest Collection is available.
- Access to the Restricted Collection is limited to U.S. Government officials (local, state, tribal, and federal) and active members of the U.S. military.
- Browse content using the In Focus menu in the middle of your screen.
- Use the drop down menus at the top of the page to view selected HDSL materials grouped by resource type.
Search Tips
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "cyber crimes".
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: Terror* will find terror, terrorism, terrorist, etc.
- Use the drop down menu on the left side of the search bar to further refine your search.
- Use the filter by buttons below the search bar to further refine your searches.
- Click Advanced Search for more precise search options.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, copy the records you want, paste them into an email, and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
- Your name
- Daytime phone number
- Course number
- Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
- Whether you’re a Daytona Beach student, a Worldwide Online student, or attend a Worldwide campus and if so, which campus

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
Provides access to articles, news feeds, and reports related to security and terrorism issues, including those related to international politics, military, and economics.
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Partial

Mobile Apps
Android
Apple

Video Tutorials

Good to Know
Articles in HTML format can be read aloud using the Text-To-Speech feature. Text-To-Speech is not available for PDF documents.

Search Tips
- Connect search terms with AND: obama AND security
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “domestic terrorism”
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: secur* will find secure, security, etc.
- To broaden your search to include words related to your keywords, check the box next to "Apply related words" under the "Search Options" section.
- For help in using and searching this database, click on Help in the upper right corner of the screen.
Requesting Items
- If full text is not available, mark the items you want by clicking on the Add to folder link in the "Tools menu" on the right.
- When you have finished adding items to the folder, click on Folder in the top right corner of the screen.
- Click on E-mail on the right.
- Enter your own email address in the E-mail to: box and click Send.
- After you receive the email containing your records, forward the email to library@erau.edu. Please include:
  
  Your name
  
  Daytime phone number
  
  Course number
  
  Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
  
  Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

Security Studies
Provides a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Partial

Support: https://support-jstor-org.ezproxy.libproxy.db.erau.edu/hc/en-us
JSTOR Security Studies Research Guide: http://guides.jstor.org/security-studies

Good to Know
Click Register in the upper right corner of any page in the database to create a free optional account with added features.

Search Tips
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “climate change”
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: climat* will find climate, climatic, etc.
- Connect search terms with AND: "climate change" AND migration AND water
- Find synonyms with OR and parentheses: ("greenhouse gas" OR co2) AND emission*
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, copy the records you want, paste them into an email, and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
- Full name
- Daytime phone number
- Course number
- Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
- Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

Stratfor Worldview
This geopolitical intelligence platform features news, commentary, and analysis on political, social, military and economic events and trends worldwide.
Vendor: Stratfor
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Partial

Good to Know
- Situation Reports are brief overviews of particular current issues and include What Happened, Why It Matters, and Background sections.
- The Geopolitical Calendar reports list significant events and meetings occurring during the week ahead and can be found in the Assessments section.
- Forecasts are available in quarterly, annual, and decade formats.
- Podcasts and videos are available on selected topics. Podcasts can be listened to directly in the database or through most preferred podcast apps.
Search Tips
- Click the magnifying glass symbol in the upper right corner to use the search box.
- Click the earth symbol in the upper right corner to browse content and data by region and country.
- Browse different topics, themes (longer-term, trending topics), and regions using the Explore section, which is located on the Menu and at the bottom of every page.
- For help using and searching in the database, click on Help Center in the lower right corner of any page or use the Menu feature to select Help & Support and then Help Center.

Looking for another research database?

Browse Databases

Digital National Security Archive
A searchable collection of over 104,000 documents central to US foreign and military policy.
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1945 - present
Full Text: Complete

ProQuest LibGuide - http://proquest.libguides.com/dnsa

Search Tips
- Type a single word or phrase in the Search box.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “intelligence agency”.
- To search for documents in a specific collection, click on the collection name in the section labeled "Included databases" below the search box: The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962.
- For help using and searching in the database, click on question mark icon in the upper right corner of the screen.

The following are recommended databases for locating technical reports (technical and scientific research) on this subject.

DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports
Searches declassified Department of Defense and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related documents from the Defense Technical Information Center.
Vendor: Defense Technical Information Center
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Partial

Good to Know
- Documents are sometimes reclassified and no longer accessible.
- Click on a document title to view the citation/abstract page. If the item is available full-text, a "Full Text" field containing a link will be present.
- Some documents are hundreds of pages. Please check the pagination (found on the citation/abstract page) before downloading to ensure sure your Internet connection can accomodate it.
- DTIC does not support wildcard (truncation) searching.
Search Tips
- Enter desired search terms in the Keywords box in the upper right corner for a general topic search: aircraft pilot fatigue
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: “joint strike fighter”
- Click on Advanced Search for additional search options and fields.
- For additional search tips, hover cursor on FAQ in the upper right corner, then select Research.
Requesting Items
If full text is not available, copy and paste the records you want into an email and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
- Your name
- Daytime phone number
- Course number
- Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
- Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Provides full-text access to over 700,000 federally-funded technical reports and bibliographic records of more than 2.2 million additional reports from the National Technical Reports Library.
Full Text: Partial

Search Tips
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management".
- Connect search terms with AND: automation AND cockpit
Requesting Items
- If full text is not available, mark the records you want by checking the box in the bottom left corner of the record.
- When you have finished marking all the items you want, enter your email address in the box at the top right of the page, next to: "send mail"
- After you receive the email containing your records, forward the email to library@erau.edu. Please include:
  
  Your name
  
  Daytime phone number
  
  Course number
  
  Whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
  
  Whether you’re a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

Looking for another research database?

Browse Databases

eBook Databases

Ebook Central
Provides full-text access to a growing collection of ebooks on a variety of subjects, such as aviation and human factors.
Vendor: ProQuest
Full Text: Partial
Help:http://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral

Video Tutorials

Good to Know
- NEW! Due to COVID-19, more publishers are allowing for "unlimited access" through June 30. The publisher list is updated daily: https://www.proquest.com/blog/pqblog/2020/Coronavirus-Impacted-Libraries-Get-Unlimited-Access-to-Ebook-Central.html
- You must create a free account to use features such as printing, the Bookshelf, highlighting, and downloading.
- To create a free Ebook Central account, click on the Sign In link at the top right and then click on the Join Ebook Central button.
- For most books the print/download limit is 40% of the book's pages. Printing or downloading a chapter or page range do the same thing and deduct in the same way based on the pages allowed. Both options create a PDF that does not expire.
- Check the "Availability" section, on the Detail Page, or in the Book Details side panel to see how many copies are available and if it is for Online reading or Download, or both.
- You can change the language of the interface by clicking on Settings in the naviagation bar and clicking on Language. Choose your language and save the changes.
Search Tips
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "crew resource management."
- Use connectors AND, OR, NOT to separate terms and phrases: "flight crew" AND fatigue. Connectors must be capitalized.
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a word root to find all variants: automat* will find automate, automated, automatic, and automation.
- Click the Read Online button to view the full text of a book. Or, click on Full Download to download, if available.
- Use the table of contents or navigational arrows to browse.
- Use the "Search within book" search box to search for a term or phrase within the book.
- For help using and searching in the database, click the question mark icon (?) in the upper right corner, or use their Help Guide
Request Items
- Books not available full text online in this database may be available in print. Search for the title in EAGLEsearch to see if the library owns a print copy. Visit the Borrow and Renew (Access Services - Circulation) page for help in checking out material.
- If you see that a book is "Available on request," you may read the book online for up to 5 minutes; click Read Online to do so.
- Click on the Request button or request this book link to fill out the form to request the library purchase it if you cannot locate it in our catalog.

Gale eBooks
Complete full text access to specialized reference sources such as almanacs, encyclopedias, and books on a variety of topics.
Vendor: Gale
Full Text: Complete

Video Tutorials (Scroll down to the "Online Resources" section and click on Gale Virtual Reference Library.)

Good to Know
Always clear your searches after printing, emailing, or saving.

Search Tips
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: pilot* will find pilot, pilots, piloting, etc.
- When two or more words are entered, the database will search for them as an exact phrase. If you wish to avoid this, place AND between the words.
- Browse books by clicking on one of the subjects in the center of the page. Click on a title to view the book then choose Table of Contents to access chapters of the book.
- For help using and searching in the database, click on Help in the left corner of the screen.

Janes
Limited to five users at a time. Please click Log out when finished. Provides full-text access to a number of Jane's resources, such as Jane's All the World's Aircraft, Aero Engines, Airport Review, International Defense Review, and more.
Vendor: IHS
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Complete

Good to Know
- Limited to 5 users at a time. Please click Log out in the upper right of the screen when finished.
- Formerly titled IHS Aerospace, Defence & Security.
- Jane's All the World's Aircraft is divided into three sections: Development & Production, In Service, and Unmanned.
- All the World's Aircraft: Development & Production contains information on civil and military aircraft. All the World's Aircraft: In Service contains information on aircraft upgrades.
- Jane's World Airlines is no longer available within this database.
Search Tips
- Use the Search box on the home page to search all of the database's content.
- For help using and searching in the database, hover your mouse over the question mark symbol in the top center and click View Help.

Taylor & Francis eBooks
Full-text ebooks from publishers CRC Press, Routledge, and more, on topics including engineering, technology, international relations, business, and computer science.
Vendor: Informa
Full Text: Partial

Good to Know:
Titles with the "Coming soon" message are not currently available. See the "eBook Published" date on the book profile page for availability.

Search Tips:
- Use the search box at the top of the page to search by keywords, authors, titles, or ISBN
- Use the limiters on the left to narrow down results: Subject, Collection, Publication Date, Imprint (Publisher), or Authors
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "decision making"
- Connect search terms with AND: engineering AND systems
- From a book's profile page, click Read Online to view a page-by-page full-text version of the book online or click Download to download a complete PDF version
Requesting Items:
If full text is not available, copy the records you want, paste them into an email, and send them to library@erau.edu. Please include:
- Your name
- Daytime phone number
- Course number
- Whether you're an undergraduate, graduate, or PhD student
- Whether you're a Daytona Beach or Worldwide student

Video Databases

Films On Demand
Web-based streaming videos covering a variety of subjects.
Vendor: Infobase

Good to Know
- Titles play in their entirety by default, but can be played by segments.
- To create a Films On Demand account, click on the Your Profile link in the upper right corner in desktop view or on the menu icon in mobile view.
- By creating an account you can create customized playlists, which can be shared by a persistent URL.
Search Tips
- Use an asterisk (*) at the end of the root of a word to find all variants: vision* will find vision, visionary, visioning, etc.
- Enclose terms in quotation marks to search for exact phrases: "virtual reality".
- Browse by Subjects, Popular Categories, or Featured Producers by clicking on the menu icon.
- For help using and searching this database, click on Help in the lower left corner.

Kanopy
Subscription-based streaming video platform that includes documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and instructional films.
Note: Due to budgeting constraints the library's subscription is now "mediated," meaning titles are not accessible/licensed unless requested by faculty or instructional staff, and approved by the library. Films already licensed appear on the Kanopy homepage. Faculty may browse or search for other titles and fill out the pop-up request form on the Kanopy site, which will be sent to library staff to review.

PBS Video
Select PBS episodes from series such as Masterpiece, FRONTLINE, American Experience, Secrets of the Dead, Austin City Limits, Need To Know, NOVA, NATURE, and Independent Lens.

Looking for another research database?

Browse Databases