Skip to main content

Understanding Journals: Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly, Trade, & Popular

A helpful guide to better understand and identify the different types of journals.

Locating Peer-Reviewed Articles

There are several ways to locate scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the Hunt Library.  Whether you're using EAGLEsearch or one of the library's research databases, very often these resources will provide ways to limit your results to both scholarly and peer-reviewed sources.  


EAGLEsearch

Once you have placed a search in EAGLEseearch, look on the left side of the results page for the list of filters.  Under "Limit Your Results," click on Scholarly & Peer-Review.  This will limit your results to those that are both scholarly and peer-reviewed.  If you would rather limit your results to those sources that are just peer-reviewed, click on Peer-Review.

Click images to view larger

 
 
 
EAGLEsearch Peer-Review Limit
 
 
 

EBSCO Databases

For EBSCO databases, you can easily limit your search results to peer-reviewed and scholarly sources before placing your search. Under "Limit your results," just select the box Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Click image to view larger

EBSCO Peer Reviewed Limit


ProQuest Databases

For ProQuest databases you can easily limit your search results to peer-reviewed sources before placing your search. Under the search box, select the box Peer reviewed.

Click image to view larger

Proquest Peer Review Limit


Other Databases

Many of the library's other databases provide similar options for limiting your results to peer-reviewed sources (ex. ERIC, Gale Databases, etc.), or only provide peer-reviewed sources (ex. IEEE Xplore, SAGE Journals, ScienceDirect, Scopus, Taylor & Francis Online, Web of Science, etc.).  To view a complete list of our databases, visit our Research Databases page.